The media has become too influential in people’s lives today and this is a negative development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the ever-increasing development of the Internet leads to the growing popularity of the media. While some people consider that this phenomenon leads to adverse repercussions, I partly agree with this statement. To begin with, I think that there are several justifications why the media is believed to have a negative impact on some aspects of life. First and foremost, the press often prioritise viewership and readership over the quality, so this results in the misleading and perception of the world. Obviously, in modern life, numerous people opt for reading online newspapers to acquire information; however, some unscrupulous journalists and reporters neglect the facts and put more emphasis on sensitive and scandalous news. Additionally, distorted, manipulated and unauthentic information does not enable readers or viewers to perceive the problems in all angles. In addition, it is apparent that the media creates undesired problems in the process of reporting. For example, the heavy coverage on shocking or neatie news may cause the audience's pessimism and social insecurity, people tend to be insensitive due to the fear of being scrammed. Clearly, this negative tendency is likely to deteriorate the ethical values of the society. In contrast, I believe the positive sides of the media should not be overlooked. First of all, the media assists people in widening knowledge on various disciplines and keeps people aware of current events. Apparently, under the impact of Coid 19 lockdown, the demand for accessing information and events is growing; as a result, the media gives viewers exposure to cultural experiences. Also, the media could offer instant access to information on almost any subject, so it is easy for people to keep up-to-date. Moreover, the media could be a means of propaganda. For instance, the media disseminate information and bad news such as: fraud or cybercrimes so that people could avoid being scammed. Besides, the government could raise awareness of their citizens, and announce paramount declarations by the media. Obviously, this is an efficient and time-saving way. To sum up, although the drawbacks of the media is undeniable, the advantages should not be overshadowed by it. In addition, the governments and the journalists should monitor and regulate the content thoroughly before publishing it to ensure the accuracy of the information and the credibility of the press.