some people believe that there should be fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for commiting it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. discuss both these views and give your own opinion

The topic of punishment has been controversial. Some individuals believe that each sort of crime should have a specific penalty, whereas I agree with those who feel that the circumstances of a particular crime, as well as the reason for doing it, should always be considered when determining punishment. On the one hand, it is commonly believed that there should be fixed punishment for each type of crime. the most important reason is that those that support fixed punishment point to reduce serious crime and show how important criminal laws can punish them. Furthermore, people who decided to commit the crime should receive equal and specific punishment appropriate for their actions. For example, according to the latest research conducted by Tokyo University, it was revealed that 80% of Southeast Asia countries committed serious crimes such as murder,robbery and terrorism because the government has not released any obvious penalties thought out the public. Thus, the criminal prisoner is likely to re-offend when they are released. On the other hand, it seems to me that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. The most significant reason is the fact that it is unfair for prisoners to be prejudged without considering the reason why they decided to commit the crime. To illustrate this, in recent news, it has been reported that many prisoners have faced a situation and environment which convince them to become murderers since most of them has been trauma childhood experience such as child sexual abuse. I agree with this point because it is unjust to judge the prisoner without considering each case. In conclusion, having considered both sides of this topic, although we should support the fixed punishment to reduce crime, I agree with those who think that it is unfair for prisoners to be prejudged without considering the reason why they decided to commit the crime.