In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

It is observed that in economic progressive countries the longevity of life has increased. Throughout this essay, I will explore the problems that will be faced by people and communities due to increase in the life span of individuals and suggest possible solutions for the same. To begin with, an ageing population can put considerable pressure on the job sector, as people are not capable of working after a certain age, creating a deficit in the number of employable people in the market. For instance, Japan has a high proportion of aged people, due to which the employment sector is impacted as there is a lack of skilled workers. Furthermore, the government expenditure in healthcare also increases for people of a higher age bracket, since they are prone to age related physical ailments. Moreover, public institutions cannot tax them, as they are not regular wage earners and liable to be paid a certain pension in specific countries, further increasing government spendings. A possible solution could be public bodies having special training programs for older people, in order to keep them updated with the latest work trends and technology, enabling them to be employed by organisations. For example, in India, specific vocational training is given to people above the age of 65 in the telecommunication sector, to increase their chances of being hired. Moreover, for reduction in government expenditure on Healthcare facilities, regular health checkups can be administered at frequent intervals of time for a subsidised fee to ensure that they do not have any major disease which warrants a visit to the hospital or detailed surgery. In conclusion, aged people can have a detrimental effect on the economy of a country but at the same time if proper measures are taken by the prevalent authorities then they will not be a burden to any community.