Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are a variety of arguments about whether competition is more beneficial to society than cooperation. Some claim that competing against each other can help us to develop our abilities and use our resources effectively. However, others assume that cooperation is more important since many social problems in modern community require collaboration. This essay agrees more with the latter view than the former view. To begin with, people will try to acquire honourable results when they are in competition. As competition usually entails rewards such as high wages, personal success, and authority for a superior person, they will dedicate their goals. For example, research published by Seoul National University showed that students made better academic performances when they were given a relative grade than an absolute one. In contrast, unity is necessary to solve the abundant social problems in modern civilization. Since public has become more and more complex and collective, what result someone makes affects what people are doing even on the opposite side of the world. With any circumstances that we counter, it will be going around in circles if all participants in the world aren’t concerned. For instance, there are a number of environmental problems we should alleviate. In terms of the emission of carbon dioxide, many countries are trying to reduce it while some countries still release immense amounts of gas, focusing on only industrial development. In conclusion, although both views are convincing, it seems obvious that cooperation can play a more pivotal role in modern society.