Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In modern society, certain children are spending a considerable amount of time on their smartphones. I firmly believe that this is a negative development, as it exacerbates issues related to physical and psychological well-being, contributing to poor academic performance and a lack of social interaction. These two aspects are detailed in the following paragraphs. ​ To begin with, excessive use of smartphones presents several drawbacks. One of the major disadvantages is weakened social interaction. For example, when children use cell phones for longer intervals of time, they rarely go outside in the park to play, where they can get a golden opportunity to chat with others, thereby resulting in poor development of interpersonal skills. Moreover, such individuals also fail to make supportive relationships. ​ Secondly, smartphone addiction has an adverse impact academically, as it diverts the attention of students, thereby altering their attention span and leading to poor grades. For instance, a study was carried out involving school-going children. The results revealed that those using smartphones appropriately were able to outperform most of their classmates compared to those using them for extended periods of time, thus supporting the aforementioned viewpoint. ​ To conclude, it is evident that the problematic use of electronic devices inadvertently affects children's education and social skills; therefore, their overuse must be avoided. Lastly, preventive measures should be adopted, such as parents and teachers raising awareness about the pros and cons of digital devices and ensuring that their use does not interfere with academics or the development of other essential skills.