Some people say that individuals who make a lot of money are the most successful. Others think that those who contribute to society like scientists and teachers are more successful. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

A few defend that people that become wealthy have achieved true success, while others argue the level of success is more connected to the difference someone makes to others. The purpose of this essay is to analyze both sides of this argument, and then I will give my opinion, which is that success is more related to contribution to society than to the amount of money someone is able to accumulate. On the one hand, some believe that money is the main measure for success. One reason is that having much money is the dream of many. For instance, they think a huge amount of money will make them happy. In addition, when the money comes from effort and merit, it brings a rewarding feeling. Many famous people had to work hard, such as Neymar, who had to practice to become one of the best soccer players. Therefore, many would say he succeeded, considering he came from a poor family. On the other hand, there are others who think the impact on society influences more how successful someone feels. Personal satisfaction and happiness increase when you do something good for others. For example, after teaching or helping others, that person might express gratitude in return, and there are hormones released that make you feel better. Besides, there are many priceless things in life, such as purpose. When you contribute to society by discovering a new medicine, for example, the number of people who will benefit and the feeling of mission accomplished might make you feel successful. In conclusion, I believe both sides have merits. On balance, in my opinion how much someone contributes to society is more valuable than wealthy when measuring success. This is because it is my belief that if everyone aimed at doing something good for others, money would be just a consequence, as I feel that the world would be a better place.