Nowadays, many people can not read or write. What problems does this cause? What measures can governments take to solve these problems?

For the time being, humankind has made many great advancements in numerous fields, however, due to the lack of access to education, there are many individuals who are left behind, suffering from illiteracy. Although, this issue is widespread, I believe that the government still have enough methods in order to solve this problem. Considered as the first inevitable consequence, losing rights will cause these people to feel isolated from the community. As can be known, if a person can not write or read a document, he or she will grow up without any vital knowledge, and the fact that they can not understand important information will make them incur inferiority and discrimination. Next, to be short of reading comprehension skills also means that these people find the integration into society difficult and remote. For example, the workforce, nowadays, is divided into two main groups, one is the knowledgable, and the other is uneducated, mainly referring to the people with illiteracy, who have to become sweated labour. Consequently, for not owing enough skills and general knowledge, this kind of people is unfairly treated in both society and the working environment. However, I think there are easy steps that the government can make so as to eradicate illiteracy. It will be an effective solution if the national and local authorities build more social and community centres in which the disadvantaged can make use of the free sources to gain knowledge and strengthen their skills. For example, many developed countries adopt policies to help the poor and the disabled having the access to advanced curriculum that later creates well-qualified human resources for the labour market. Additionally, the government can allocate resources to set up a welfare state in remote areas, so that all kinds of people, even those who are in minority groups, have an equal chance to receive basic education like the others. In conclusion, to construct a civilized bureaucracy, I support the idea that the government should provide more opportunities to the illiterate so that the economy can be greatly developed with the help of the highly - specialized workforce in the future.