Some people believe that young people who commit serious crimes should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The juvenile delinquency rate is on the rise, some people argued that there should be strict discipline for their wrongdoings. I personally agree with the given opinions to some extent, but I believe that there are some measures that could tackle the situation. On the one hand, I believe that imposing severe punishments on young perpetrators would set an example for would-be criminals, regardless of age. First of all, imposing both ways for young and adults will decrease the crime rate, especially declining in the reoffending level. Therefore, harsh punishments such as the death penalty and life imprisonment should be included in juvenile sentences, this could spread a warning to future criminals. Secondly, teenagers who commit crimes at an early age were put into detention centres for a certain period of time tend to backslide to their old illegal lifestyle. As a result, young people may consider committing a crime is normal and they will certainly keep repeating their wrongdoings. Additionally, inappropriate punishments for them would leave injustice for the victims. While the victims are suffering the consequences of the delinquent's action, the criminals receive a light prison sentence just because they are not old enough for legal responsibilities. On the other hand, I think that the best solution to limit the level of young offenders is to provide them with a better education. To exemplify, if children are well-educated and have the best conditions to develop, they will avoid bad behaviours. Moreover, young perpetrators should be given the chance to have a restart and time to reflect on their harmful actions. In conclusion, I think that the government should impose both strict regulations and improve the education quality as well as rehabilitation for teenagers who commit felonies. Besides, the government should also take account in improving rehabilitation centres to help young criminals have a better subconscious after committing crimes.