Many cities are currently facing a serious housing shortage. What are some of the reasons for this shortage and what solution can you suggest.

Housing shortage nowadays has become a serious problem in many cities. Some of the reasons to have caused this issue are; increase in the number of the population and lack of houses being built. One of the solutions to this problem is to build more properties for people to either buy or rent to live in them. One of the primary reasons for having caused a housing shortage is that the number of our population has increased. People nowadays live longer than before which means there are fewer deaths and as a,result the number of our society has become larger. Another significant reason for causing housing shortages in many cities is that many places attract more people than others. Many move in from rural areas or from other countries to live in big cities where they can find better jobs or better education. Consequently, these places suffer from serious housing shortages. For example, in London, accommodation is a serious problem because there are too many people and not enough houses.  One solution to this problem is to build more properties. The government should release more planning permissions so that construction companies can build new properties which then citizens can have access to either buy or rent a property to live in. There is plenty of land surrounding the cities and the government should allow more properties to be built in order to accommodate those in need. For instance, in Tirana, 10 years ago there was a serious housing shortage. However, after the government allowed a significant number of properties to be built, this issue was solved. In conclusion, although there are some housing shortages in many cities, because of an improved life expectancy and those cities that attract a certain population, the authorities can reduce this issue by building more properties.