Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In general, people view things differently, many people believe that the government should provide subsidies in public services instead of the arts like the music and film industry because it is very extravagant. From my point of view, I agree to a limited extent with this statement. In the following paragraphs, the cases and examples will help support my opinion. On the one hand, it can be seen that an increasing number of people encounter some serious social problems because they cannot access public services equally. For instance, my grandparents, who live in a remote area were far from civilization, so they cannot totally receive social welfare from the government, such as public health care. Therefore, due to the authority, the government should provide accessible services for their citizen, Especially, the elders who live in the countryside. On the other hand, it is true to say that the governments should not develop only one aspect, but they must take serious action with other problems in their country, such as arts. For example, in my country, Thailand, it is undeniable that the music industry is hardly sponsored by the government. Thus, it is not famous overseas. In my view, it is significant for the government to take part in this issue and should pay more attention to looking after the arts. To sum up, I personally agree that government should not only spend their money on social services, but they should also develop the arts industry. The cases and examples mentioned above have supported my point of view to the best.