Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role of education of children Discuss both views and give your opinion

A certain portion of parents opine that homework is important for children, whereas other sets of people argue that it should not be provided. I believe homework is essential for revising the concepts, however it has to be given in moderate proportion. This essay will elaborate on both merits and demerits of homework in detail. On one hand, it aids teachers to evaluate if the student has understood the concept taught in the class. Nevertheless, portions that are not taught in the class shouldn't be given as homework, instead it should assist pupils to revise the concepts instructed in the school. This will give an opportunity to clarify any doubts they had while doing their assignment. If the new syllabus is assigned as a home assignment, then children may not be able to complete it resulting in less self-confidence. As a consequence, there will be drop-outs from educational institutions, which might result in unemployment. On the other hand, instructing children to perform home assignments reduces the time they have to socialize and learn new skills. After a long hectic day at school, school assignments consume most of their time due to which they cannot work on their passion or hobby, for example, learning music or playing outdoor games such as basketball with friends. Nowadays, people who are multi-talented tend to get more opportunities, for instance, Koneru Hampi, an international grandmaster is able to succeed in chess because her teachers and parents encouraged her to dedicate time for her passion. Sports not only increases fitness, but also teaches different skills such as team building, negotiation skills, interpersonal skills. Therefore, children will have ample amount of time to explore if there are no after school work. To conclude, I would argue that homework should be a means for pupils to understand the concept rather than pushing them to learn new portions on their own, as a result, they get adequate time to work on extra-curricular activities.