Weddings are getting bigger and more expensive. What is the reason for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

To begin with, a wedding is one of the most important ceremonies we could ever have. It is no wonder why some want to have the biggest wedding, showing how much they are aware of its importance. Still, there are some who argue that it is unnecessary to hold a big wedding. The main reasons behind the development in marriage expenditures are all about the cultural aspects. Some countries believe that weddings should be as enormous as possible. The reason is to show off the wealth of the bride and groom’s family. Especially in the materialistic society we live in, it is impossible to deny the fact that social status is important for some. It is also believed that the bigger the events are, the tighter the relationship is. This has an impact on how people would spend on their proposal. I do not really rely on those kinds of beliefs. I think this has only driven our society in the worse way. It is showing how much we rely on money status. It is more important to focus on holding on to the relationship as happy as one could, rather than focus on how to show off to people. Also, ceremonies like these are not only a waste of money but a waste of resources. It is unsustainable and unnecessary, flowers and decorations can not be used over again. I think it is more important to think about the vows and love of the couple. In conclusion, I believe a good wedding is not about how big it is or how much money has been used. It is about the memories that will last for the bride and groom. Marriage should be a ceremony that will be a precious moment rather than a ceremony to show off to people.