Trying to save endangered animal species from extinction is a waste of valuable resources. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial statement heating a debate over the fact that protecting wildlife from the verge of extinction is a waste of precious resources. While this is valid to a certain extent, I consider myself an opponent of this argument. It is undoubted that there are many other aspects of life that need to be focused on instead of saving animals. To be specific, medical health and technology are the backbone industry that requires a considerable amount of investment. For instance, Africa is suffering from the effect of the pandemic due to the lack of money, which leads to the shortage of medical services and supplies. Thus, protecting endangered species is not the priority of governments because there are other important elements of life that need to be specialized in. On the other hand, there are several reasons why saving wildlife from the verge of extinction worth all the resources it requires. Firstly, animal species are also a valuable resource because they provide people with a wide range of useful supplies. For example, the hand of bears is an important medicine yet this specie is under a pressing threat. Secondly, it is undoubted that wildlife enrich and contribute to the existence of the environment by their habits, such as squirrels and birds help plant trees. Lastly, saving animal species is far more affordable because it mainly involves people's awareness than governments' funding. Hence, it is necessary to protect endangered animals due to the wonders it does for human beings. In conclusion, despite having many aspects that need specialization, I believe that we also need to focus on saving animal species from extinction.