Nowadays more tasks at home and work are being performed by robots. why do you think this is happening? Is it positive or negative development?

In recent times more jobs and housework is done by robots. This essay will explain why this is happening and why it is a beneficial development. There have been many important advancements in technology but there are 2 that stand out: the improvement in computers and in the field of artificial intelligence. It is known that computers double their speed every 4 years and every year more and more A. I. papers are published annually. These advancements are fundamental to the development of new and more advanced robots. To understand why it is important to know that most of the tasks that were automated in the last century are very simple and repetitive such as, washing machines. On the other hand, the tasks companies are trying to automate usually require a process of decision making. Self-driving cars and chatbots are examples of this. Therefore improvements in A. I. can be beneficial to the development of robots that are able of doing these tasks. More automation means that more of the same product or service can be produced with fewer people. This has a good and a bad side. The good one is that goods and services are cheaper to produce and thus they will be more affordable. However, fewer workers mean that people will lose their jobs. It is certainly true that robots have made some jobs obsolete but there is also true that new jobs were created thanks to more affordable goods and services. For instance, car companies are among the most automated industries but cheaper cars allowed more people to be able to buy cars and therefore the creation of new businesses such as car wash shops that would have never existed if only a few very wealthy individuals were the only that owned those vehicles. In my opinion, this means that,in the end, automation is always a positive development. To sum up, new technology advancements brought new robots able to do tasks that require some degree of intelligence. Additionally, even though this has the drawback in the short term that some people will lose their jobs in the long term it is beneficial for them.