Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development ?

Modern technology has virtually decreased distances between countries. Enabling people to purchase items from anywhere across the globe. I see that this is a positive development, as it provides users with various amount of options to choose from, moreover it can save money. This essay will discuss the positive impact of buying from anywhere in the world. Firstly, the ability to buy products online from around the globe provides purchasers with a huge amount of options. For example, one could be living in Central Africa and decide between English velvet or Indian silk for his living room curtains, as well as choosing between a Persian or Polish carpet to go along with his curtains. Therefore such luxury to choose from around the globe will allow for better optimization and customization of personal needs as in this example. Second, having access to international markets would hinder monopoly, therefore elevating competition, and dropping prices. For instance, as someone who admires Japanese sports cars, I was not able to afford my dream vehicle, because the local distributors were keen on imposing high margins on their sales, however with international sales, I was able to buy my dream car directly from Japan and shipped to my country with significantly less cost. As a result, local sellers will have to be more competitive, which will benefit buyers. To conclude I say, gaining accessibility to buy from anywhere in the world, is a positive development, as it provides a limitless number of items or solutions for buyers while saving their money at the same time. Our generation is lucky to have this option which was never possible before, thanks to modern technology.