Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

In recent times, the advancements in technology allow us to stay in contact at all times. This development allows employers to contact their staff whenever needed, including during holidays. This trend has both advantages and disadvantages, however, I believe that the problems surpass the benefits. To begin with, this recent trend that permits the employers to contact the employees at any time does have a few benefits, such as it allows them to take reports and ensure if all the work allocated to an individual was completed as per the promised deadline. For instance, if a project needs to be submitted, and the company’s reputation is at stake. The employer can call his employees and ask them to prepare a presentation as it is something that requires immediate attention. On one hand, this trend benefits the company, however, on the other hand, it has detrimental effects on the employee’s personal life. It negatively impacts their work-life balance, and does not allow them to have any personal time. As a consequence, the mental health of these individuals is severely affected. Recent studies have shown that depression rates are consistently increasing, moreover, people are starting to hate their jobs more than ever before, owing to this trend which takes away time from their private lives. In my opinion, there should be separation of work and private life. Working hours should be limited to when an individual comes to the office, and once they reach home, they should be allowed to be present there. Furthermore, this would lead to happy and healthy individuals, who would be able to work more efficiently, thus, benefiting the company. In conclusion, I believe the disadvantages of this trend are more than the advantages, and employers should not be allowed to contact their staff unless it is an absolute emergency.