Caring for children is probably the most important job in any society. Because of this, all mothers and fathers should be required to take a course that prepares them to be good parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Childcare has become a controversial issue in recent years, to the point that there are courses for people before deciding to have a baby. Personally, I agree with the compulsory parental preparation courses for two main reasons. Firstly, some virtues are needed to be learnt to be good parents. Due to the fact that fathers and mothers are the role models of their children, they need to practice being well-mannered and stick to ethical measures. In other words, if they want to nurture a moral child, they need to act this way such as being courteous and helpful. These classes should also teach them to be completely responsible about their decisions. For example, a child would have a lot of energy and make trouble, if he/she ate many chocolates or candies and this is a decision that usually a parent would make. Secondly, fathers and mothers should be acquainted with all aspects of childcare including financial issues. Caring for children is really costly and demands a huge amount of money, especially if parents are both employed and a nurse is needed. These financial demands are not only about their basic needs such as food, but also their education would be as important; in many undeveloped countries such as Africans, many young people would have a better standard of living if they went to a college or at worst case a high school. Parents are likely to learn all these requirements in advance by taking courses that may result in better pecuniary management. In conclusion, I believe mandatory parental courses are needed to raise people's awareness about the importance and challenges of childcare and the requirements of being a good parent.