It is as important to teach children to protect the environment as it is to teach them to read and write. To what extent do you agree with this statement? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is generally acknowledged by certain individuals that leaning how to protect the environment is as essential as that of how to read and write. However, I disagree with this assertion as once kids learn literacy, reading and writing have various benefits including reading an article about environmental protection themselves. Firstly, If some kids learn to read and wright at an early age, they can earn a good grade from a class. As they live in a competitive society, it is difficult to gain an extraordinary grade among children who are rivals. Not only can reading skills and writing skills enhance patience and knowledge, but it may also brings about better grades. For example, a recent media in Korea reports that a child who learned literacy before the 6 years old tend to earn 30% higher grades than other kids who learned to read and write after that age. Hence, if children be literate earlier than others, they can easily become knowledgeable since they can read more books that help them to become wise. Secondly, students who are taught to read and write can have more chances to learn other languages efficiently which is beneficial to get a better job in the future. Because when kids learn multi languages at the same time, they easily become confused. Therefore, after they finish master the mother tongue, it is way easy to learn other language. What is more, due to globalization, a significant number of multinational companies are willing to recruit candidates who are multi-lingual. In this regard, it is reasonable to point out that learning literacy is a substantial advantage for kids. In conclusion, reading and writing skills are more crucial to win in a competition at school than leaning the way to protect environment. Furthermore, I strongly believe that if children can read and write, they can read an article about environmental issues by themselves.