Some people think that the best way to become successful in life is to get a university education, whereas others say this is no longer true. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

According to some people, getting a university degree is a surefire way to become successful. Others, however, insist that it is not necessary to go to college. In my opinion, education will certainly help to achieve progress in life but it is not a prerequisite. Firstly, a university education is essential for higher achievements in an academic field. For example, you cannot be a doctor without proper qualifications. In other words, to be a doctor an educational degree is a must. Universities help individuals to expand their knowledge, offer a lot of opportunities to diversify in their chosen field and make them worldly-wise. Secondly, you can tell from a simple interaction with a person who has had a higher qualification how intelligent and knowledgeable they are. Furthermore, research has demonstrated that people with a college education have higher chances of employment. However, accomplishment in life does not always require such educational degrees. Individuals have time and again demonstrated that a successful career can also be achieved without going to college. For example, Thomas Edison never completed school and he is one of the most famous and prolific inventors of all time. Similarly, one of the top cricketers, Sachin Tendulkar never finished graduation. Also renowned billionaire businessman, Dhirubhai Ambani. These are all successful individuals who achieved success by dint of their hard work, perseverance and talent. It can be seen that these days having a little bit of talent and a smartphone camera is enough to start vlogging and become an overnight internet success. Of course, having university learning makes it easy for talented and hard-working people but it is not a must. To conclude, accomplishing educational institutions is crucial for achieving success in careers such as medicine, engineering and technology. On the other hand, it is not essential in general. Sometimes traits like hard work, diligence and talent come in handy to be a high achiever in life.