In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

With the advancement of urban developments, a growing rate of young adults from suburbs move to cities, seeking better employment. This leads to an imbalanced population between rural and urban areas. Some argue that this brings a positive impact on the country as a whole, while I believe that there are substantial negative consequences. Looking at the upsides of the moving population from the countryside, cities provide rural residents with greater resources and better future development. For example, urban areas are building an increasing number of business locations, housing sections and all kinds of construction, which requires a significant amount of workers. By contrast, suburbs lack a variety of occupations, and most of the residents there engage in more conventional work. People are seeking various opportunities to raise per capita income and improve life quality. Consequently, increasing numbers of employers from all sectors enhance productivity and therefore boost the economic growth of a country as a whole. However, the major drawbacks of a declining rural population can increase the urban-rural gap and result in unequal distribution of wealth. For instance, less labour force is devoted to traditional industries such as agriculture, farming or manufacturing, reducing the production of the primary sector and dramatically affecting the cost of those raw products. Furthermore, those who suffer from a production decline can result in a substantial reduction in their earnings, making the urban-rural gap far more severe. In conclusion, although every country may experience this issue inevitably, we must take action on how to alleviate the challenges our countryside is facing and make adjustments to tackle the matters of decreasing labour force and revenues in the countryside.