Some people belive that enagiging in an active pastime does more to develop children's life skills than time spent reading. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals hold the opinion that the leisure time spent on kinaesthetic activities is more beneficial than reading as it helps adolescents to reach their full potential. I personally agree with this notion and fully advocate for the utilisation of spare time for physical activities rather than diving into books. The prominent reason behind my preference for physical activities in free time over studies lies in the fact that children nowadays are already under overwhelming academic and peer pressure, whereby they spend a considerable part of their day indulged in books. Therefore, some detachment from reading is paramount; firstly, to put a pause on such a health depleting routine, and secondly, to help them develop cognitive skills that they could only attain through activities that involve full intellect to development of some useful dexterity. In addition, participation in an active pastime such as going grocery shopping with parents or simply observing a parent fix something speeds up the process of becoming self-reliant. Reading, on the other hand, merely gives children the theoretical knowledge that would go in awry, if not in vain, without knowing the practical aspects of day-to-day life. Notwithstanding the rationalisation, excessive emphasise on active pastimes over reading is not without concerns. The primary one stems from the fact that engagement in active pastimes could distract children from their academic goals which often requires accumulation of knowledge through intense reading. In such cases, distracting a child from reading could prove detrimental to their academic performance, future goals, and career. To sum it all up, I would like to acknowledge the immense benefits of an active pastime and reaffirm my belief that students must isolate themselves from books once a while in order to achieve an overall physical and mental growth to be ready for the future because books are not the ladder to success but merely a step in it.