Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). Do you agree or disagree?

A high school contributes highly to the successful development of a child. Some believe that high schools should create a programme to make unpaid community service compulsory. I strongly agree with the aforementioned sentence as there are numerous benefits it offers to the development of a student. This essay will analyse and give examples to support the claim. First and foremost, unpaid community service such as working for a charity, contributing to the improvement of the neighbourhood and becoming a sports coach for younger children has significant benefits to students. Being unpaid and doing good charitable work like so can have a positive effect on the mental health of the student. This is because knowing they are using their talent to improve and make other less fortunate individuals happy can make them feel like they are worth something and appreciate what they have. For instance, a lot of doctors around the world suggest participating in charity work to patients to improve their mental wellbeing. As a result, such a positive effect on the mental health of children contributes dearly to a successful development. Hence, high schools should make such a work a compulsory part of their programmes. Secondly, another benefit of such a trend is the connections they are able to forge while participating in such programmes. A vast array of individuals with different backgrounds and professions attend such events and this makes it the perfect environment to create new connections. As an example, a lot of high education scholars attend meetings and events for the chance to discuss and ask questions to professionals about tips and tricks on how to be successful in being employed. Therefore, for high school scholars who are preparing for university and employment, such events will prove extremely useful. Thus, the benefit of attending such events is extremely helpful in the future endeavours of students. In conclusion, while some individuals believe that unpaid community service should be voluntary, I believe the opposite. I strongly agree that such programmes should be made compulsory for high school scholars as there are multifold benefits associated with such events like the aforementioned.