Many people believe that zoos have no purpose in today’s world and should be closed. What problems do zoos bring? What are the alternatives to zoos if they are closed?

Several Individuals advocate that zoos should be shut down by the authorities as they serve no motive in today’s era. This essay will elaborate on the detrimental impact caused by these wildlife enclosures on both people and animals and how suitable methods can be implemented instead. “The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way they treat the animals.” - Mahatma Gandhi. Animal Enclosed parks provide a great source of entertainment and information to adults, especially children. However, there is a big catch involved. Animals held in captivity are bred in these artificial habitats. Zoo - the man-made environment designed for fauna poses innumerable pitfalls for both humans as well as animals. The creatures which are captured and thrown into these jails suffer from zoochosis - a condition where the environment around these innocent creatures causes them insufferable stress and frustration, which causes degrading effects on their mental and physical health. Animals diagnosed with this condition are prone to head swaying, neck twisting, chewing the enclosure gate bars and even self-mutilation. Furthermore, creatures who are infected with viral diseases are a major threat to the people who visit them. Since most of the viruses are airborne, there is a great risk for people to contact them via breathing. At times, the safety of the individual isn’t guaranteed. Most of the compartments which are created for the animals lack certain security structures - improper functioning of the locks, loosen door handles, broken fences - yet possess another danger to us. In the 2016 Cincinnati Zoo, a young boy fell into a gorilla’s habitat. Harambe - the gorilla grabbed and dragged the boy to its cave. This caused a massive panic amongst the crowd present and the authorities had to take instant action. The gorilla was shot dead by a zoo worker in order to save the young boy’s life. The enraged animal activists started circulating petitions and demanded justice for the ape’s life. The humanised environment developed for these voiceless beings is more profit-oriented, meaning they wish to grow financially rather than offer protection to them. From the introduction to online entertainment platforms to the use of artificial intelligence in various industries. There are countless incentives that can be applied under proper guidance. Social awareness can be generated amongst the population about animal welfare through petitions, online media and donations - in either cash or kind. The audience, specifically children can be shown various documentaries on nature and wildlife in order to gain information about these wild beings and develop a fresh outlook for their benefit, instead of visiting these traumatizing compartments. For research purposes, the internet is the best and the safest tool that can be used by scholars to browse and learn about animal species. In 2019, Roncalli Circus, also known as the holographic circus based out of Germany, decided to stop using real animals for their acts. They employed professionals to design and replicate animals in a 3-dimensional form. They received a lot of positive reviews from laymen and wildlife experts, encouraging others to adopt the same methods. To summarize, all mammals species - be it Terrestrial, Amphibian, Avian - belong to their respective environmental habitats. This phenomenon serves no purpose but creates miserable conditions for these innocent beings. However, there are a plethora of options that can be executed in order to protect them. If suitable, effective and justified measures are taken by the government, millions of lives can be spared and a harmonious relationship can be established.