The number of zoos in some countries has increased. Some people think they are cruel and should be banned. Do you agree or disagree?

In some countries, the number of zoos shows an upward trend, and it is believed that they can be inhumane to animals and therefore should be banned. In my opinion, I totally disagree with this view because zoos, in fact, can help animals in a number of ways. Firstly, zoos can ensure animals live happily. In other words, zoos can provide medical assistance for animals that suffer from health issues and do regular medical checkups to maintain their health. In contrast, when the animals are in the wild, they may have a shorter life span, and in some cases, this can lead to the extinction of certain types of animals, especially when they are endangered. In China, for example, some pandas are taken care of in rescue centre facilities in some zoos to help them stay healthy and live for a longer period of time. Hence, they are not cruel for the animals. Secondly, zoos can help to protect animals from poachers. That is to say, some animals are endangered because of overhunting and their values. For instance, in Africa, some elephant species are on the verge of extinction because they are hunting for their tusks. When they are in the zoos, they will be protected 24 hours a day, with the help of guards and CCTV. With this, some animals can live in a safe environment, and in some cases, their number can be increased with the help of some breeding programs. This point can undoubtedly reject such a view - zoos are inhumane. To sum up, I once again reaffirm my position that zoos should not be banned because they can bring about many benefits to many different types of animals, especially the ones that are going to go extinct.