Research shows that increasing numbers of people are now living in mega-cities: cities of more than 20 million inhabitants. Is this a positive or negative development?

A growing number of people are residing in large conurbations, such as Tokyo and London whose populations exceed 20 million people. In my opinion, this is a change for the worse. Sprawling big cities cause a lot of damage to the environment. To meet the escalating demand for housing, city planners have to clear huge areas of land with greenery to make way for new accommodation. This exacerbates the already existing problem of air pollution caused by numerous private vehicles, possibly resulting in various health issues related to breathing. Another major side-effect of megacities is what is called “urban pressures”. In addition to the ever-increasing cost of living, such cities are also known for their fast pace of life, which often causes stress and can even lead to depression. This is because the competition for jobs is usually fierce, which forces people to work overtime, at the expense of their work-life balance. Finally, the rising population in megapolises puts a serious strain on the infrastructure. Apart from providing everyone with affordable accommodation, the government must ensure the quality of life remains high. This entails the smooth running of different facilities (schools, hospitals, and public transport), as well as the need for recreational opportunities like parks and theatres. To sum up, the burst in urban population has several negative implications, ranging from pressure on public facilities to the loss of green spaces and poor air quality. In combination with the urban stress, these issues can take a heavy toll on people’s well-being, which is why I believe this is a negative development.