In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their level of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

It is a fact that in some countries, the average weight of people are rising while their health and fitness are worsening. In my view, this is mainly due to technological advancement and the changing eating habits in the modern world. In this essay, I will examine these two factors and provide viable solutions. First and foremost, one of the cogent reasons for obesity is the alteration of eating behaviours that people, nowadays, tend to have less time therefore fast food would be the most appropriate meals. This means there is an increase in fast food consumption which hugely affects people’s health, weight, and cause many diseases. Likewise, the development of technology of appliances that have been invented to enable our lives to be faster, easier and more convenient reflected on people’s fitness. In other words, devices such as vacuum cleaners, dishwashing machines, or electric broom reduce people’s daily efforts or dedicate their time to do any physical activities. Therefore, with both factors that came together, undoubtedly, citizens have gained their weight and have poorer fitness levels. It is necessary for government should take steps to offer exercise sessions in public parks where it is costless and everyone can join to improve people’s general health. This can be done by creating schedules of different sports or activities, encouraging citizens who are bored staying home to exercise if there is one nearby. Additionally, the government should outlaw food and beverages companies to provide an alternative product to lessen sugar added in. For example, there is a sweet taste from grass which has 0 calories and fats thus food scientists can research to use as substitute glucose added as ingredients in products for consumers to consume healthier food. In conclusion, average weight increase may not be a crucial problem if we are conscious of the causes of technology and eating behaviours. Thus, we can solve this by consuming alternative products while having a discipline to exercise to refine our fitness level.