In many cities, planners tend to arrange shops, schools, offices, and homes in specific areas and separate them from each other. Do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Many people argue that shops, schools, offices and homes should be located in particular areas and separated from each other. While there are some advantages to this proposal, I maintain that the drawbacks are more significant. On the other hand, there are tremendous benefits from locating schools far away from shop malls or even different other buildings. Firstly the local authorities can easily control the city. Secondly, city dwellers can avoid the traffic jams at rush hour due to the purpose of each space. As a result, they can speed up their journey time. On the one hand, there is a major drawback when these buildings such as shops, offices have been built in such specific places. Some people find that inconvenient to experience this idea. The modern city is believed to contain as many convenient things as possible for living. In small research at HCM university of education, there are over 70% of people are seemed to be more interested in a diverse area that involves schools, shopping malls, homes and offices. The reason for this trend is that is effortless for them to get to these places because of their short distance. In conclusion, although this plan might poss some benefits, it seems to me that the disadvantages of locating shops, schools, homes and offices far away from each other are more profound than the advantages.