In recent years children have been given more freedom than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Over the past decade, there is a dramatic change in how offspring are brought up. Some people think that it is beneficial to give independence to children compared to the previous generations, however others condemn this idea. I agree that a child needs to be independent, however parents need to monitor them until they reach a certain age to ensure that they are on the right track. On one hand, in the current world, the patience limit of offspring has been degraded to a considerable extent. They get demotivated easily within the spur of the moment, thereby, there is a fair chance they deviate from studies, get addicted to either drugs or alcohol if they are in a bad company either physically or through social media. For example, the number of teenagers committing suicide has increased significantly due to fear of failure in exams because they are not emotionally strong and are unable to evaluate the situation. Hence, parents should play an important role in motivating and guiding their offspring to take wise decisions whenever appropriate. On the other hand, children now are intelligent enough to make their own decisions, for instance many young adults in recent days are focused, and they own most of the crucial decisions such as choosing their university and career. To illustrate, even though one of my friends' parents are illiterate and they are not aware of the job opportunities, their daughter excelled in her studies and she has become a civil servant, which is a challenging job for the majority of pupils. Therefore, children are capable of deciding their future using various means like the Internet, unlike previous generations where knowledge was limited. To conclude, I strongly agree that children need to be provided sufficient freedom to enable them to choose the correct path, nevertheless they need to be supervised by their parents to ensure they do not deviate.