Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, there has been more and more emphasis on health. Some argue that there are too much sugar in the food and drink products available on the market and the government should charge an additional fee on products with high sugar levels. Personally, I agree with this approach and I will list out some of the benefits below. Firstly, charging higher prices will definitely reduce people’s intake of sugary products. Sometimes, the public is simply not aware of the number of carbohydrates contained in the drink they purchase, as manufacturers nowadays tend to find ways to label their products as healthy even though they are not. For instance, some juice shops label themselves as healthy by emphasising their products ’ freshness. However, they never inform their customers of the amount of sugar contained in one regular size juice, which can be extremely high for some items such as grape juice. Secondly, making these unhealthy drinks more expensive will help consumers make better choices when purchasing such products. They are simply bad for health as they can lead to problems such as obesity and diabetes. The general public should definitely not be encouraged to consume such products. In addition, with more and more people switching to healthier diets, the nation will definitely benefit from savings on healthcare in the long run. Some argue that consumers should have freedom of choice and should not be punished for choosing sugary products which are often more tasty than others. However, leading manufacturers in the food and drinks industries have been focusing more and more on research for new products that contain less sugar, but still taste similar to the original products. For example, coca-cola has come out with a few new versions of coke such as coke zero. In conclusion, sugary food and drinks are harmful to people’s well-being and higher price should be charged so as to help people control their carbohydrate intake and eventually improve the health of the population.