Some people think that old buildings should be knocked down and give way to modern facilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As we embrace modernisation, old buildings are deemed more appropriate to be demolished to make way for newer development. I can’t entirely agree with this option. It will be explained further in this writing. Older buildings worldwide bring a lot of historical assets and architecture with them. Furthermore, it stands as a tourist attraction and helps in economic growth. A good illustration of this is the Sultan Abdul Samad Building in the heart of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. It was built in the late nineteenth century and underwent significant restoration and renovation since the late 1970s. Moreover, it stands proud as the main city attraction to tourists and the locals. It is still the main area for parades to occur during Independence Day annually in August. Generally, when an old building is planned to be knocked down, there will be people against this idea because of the culture and sentimental value of the old structure. Hence the authorities will have to deal with the portion of the community who are not keen to bring down a piece of history as it brings many memories to community dwellers. I think old buildings should be preserved as much as possible. Many old buildings can focus on education to architectural students and interior designers. For instance, the highly acclaimed Antonio Gaudi built iconic buildings in Barcelona. Most of them were restored, and architectural students worldwide went to Barcelona to learn from them. In conclusion, old buildings should not be knocked down unnecessarily unless deemed unsafe and bring a more significant threat to the nearby population. It has to be demolished to protect the safety of living people.