Some people think climate change has a negative impact on business, while others think that it provides more business opportunities. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Across the globe, climate change is affecting many business entrepreneurs regardless of their age or background. While many perceive climate change as detrimental to businesses, others see it as an opportunity to expand further. This essay will share both views and explain why I see climate change as an opportunity rather than a deterrence to business growth. Climate change comes in many forms, including flash floods, global warming, droughts and tropical storms. In such a natural disaster, businesses have to shut down due to damage or loss of supplies. For example, the recent flooding in Kuala Lumpur in February saw many eateries and shops filled with rising water which took days or weeks to clear. Similarly, in the agricultural and fishing sectors for example. Fish farms suffered thousands of ringgit in losses as the fish cages were flooded. Hence, unpredictable changes in the weather can impact businesses negatively Conversely, climate change can be seen as an opportunity to grow business models to meet people’s demands. For instance, the COVID-19 pandemic, which started two years ago, saw many entrepreneurs flourish when they chose to migrate their conventional sales from the physical store into an online store. It made people continue shopping online despite being in lockdown at home for many months. Furthermore, opportunities were seen by selling necessities that matched the pandemic's needs, including selling face masks, air purifiers and hand sanitisers, to list a few. In conclusion, although many people see climate transformation as a negative impact, I believe it brings more monetary gain to businesses. How much climate change hurts the economy will depend on how businesses adapt and prepare for it.