Some countries invest in specialized sports facilities for top athletes but not for the average person. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Some governments around the world try to build new sports facilities for professional athletes rather than building common sports facilities for the community. Although with this, developing countries would able to produce international sporting stars, it is very unlikely that this development would help the uplifting the health of the common man. Hence, this writer believes, this new development is more positive than negative and in the following essay, he is going to discuss it further. To begin with, sport is an important component of human life and some countries try to gain popularity and pride over other countries by producing big sporting personalities. Moreover, to produce these international sporting stars,some countries would invest billions and they made new modernized sporting complexes for practising their sporting stars. To illustrate this, Americans have invested billions of dollars to build new sporting complexes to produce new athletes and they have been able to achieve their goal by winning most golds in the Olympics. On the contrary, most people oppose this concept claiming that this money would be used to develop common sporting facilities, that can be used to improve the physical health of common people. Furthermore, by improving the physical health of their citizens, most countries would be able to reduce their mortality rate due to heart diseases and reduce the health cost. For example, according to a report published by the World Health Organization, in 2018, Finland was able to reduce their mortality following heart attacks by 50% compared to the previous decade, mainly by improving the sporting facilities for their citizens. In conclusion, even though some countries would able to develop international athletic stars by providing specialized training facilities to them, most would suggest improving common sporting facilities for the public, which invariably improve the public health of a country. Hence, this writer strongly believes that the negative development of governments invest to improve individual sporting personnel than the public in whole is, far more than its positive developments.