Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, it is believed that the environment has problems mainly because of the loss of some specific species of animals and plants. Other people are of the view that there are many vital environmental drawbacks. In my opinion, I think indeed there are quite a number of serious and life-threatening problems in the environment that should be prioritised and looked into. This essay will discuss both issues. On the one hand, the disappearance of a particular kind of plant or animal is perceived as one of the main problems environmentally. There are some things that contribute a lot to the economy of a nation and if such items disappear, it is a disaster for that nation. For example, elephants have been greatly poached in the country of Zimbabwe, hence their loss. People have been illegally killing elephants because of the tusk which they then trade illegally in the international market to eventually end up as ivory trinkets. This trade is mostly driven by the demand for ivory in parts of Asia. On the other hand, nations have many drawbacks that are more vital and life-threatening. I believe life is more delicate than anything else in the world. Moreso, some countries are facing environmental problems like earthquakes, droughts, floods and diverse sicknesses. Moreover, action should be taken to make sure that life is preserved. For instance, the Ethiopian nation has had a drought issue for some years. Further, so many lives have died because of malnutrition and sickness which were mainly caused by drought. In conclusion, as much as there are problems caused by some types of plants and animal loss in some states, it is conversely noted that there are other more natural world pressing issues which are life-threatening like drought and others and need to be prioritised because life is better than all.