The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people may argue that in order to prevent the current traffic jam we need to limit the travel to workplaces, schools and shops. However, to develop as a nation, these basic requirements of humans should be fulfilled and on the other hand, there are other good options for reducing this traffic congestion like improving public transport and infrastructures of transport like roads. Hence, this writer is in complete disagreement with the given notion. To begin with, the main causes for increased traffic congestion in major cities are the high number of private vehicles on the road and the booming population, who travel to get their basic requirements like education, work and shopping. Although,we would able to limit the number of vehicles on the road, to guarantee a quality life and improve the living conditions of the citizens we have to facilitate the transport for them. For example, In Sri Lanka, due to the fuel shortage, the government has limited the transport of the country and ultimately, all sectors like business and government services have fallen down leading to the poor living conditions of the people. On the other hand, there are other good ways to overcome this problem rather than limiting the citizen's basic requirements. for example, we can address the other causes for increase the in traffic congestion like limited public transport and poor infrastructures like roads. Furthermore, by improving the quality of roads and improving the public transport facilities we can limit traffic jams. To illustrate this, the Thailand government has implemented a law to reduce private vehicle use and encourage the public to use public transport in 2019. As a result, within a few,months most of the traffic jam we observed in The country was reduced. In conclusion, although there are few arguments to limit the day to day activities of the public, in order to mitigate the current traffic problem, there are more practical ways to control this instead. Hence, this writer is in complete disagreement with the given solution.