some people claim that not enough of the waste from home is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for goverments to make it a legal requirements ? To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Certain people are of the consensus that sufficient garbbage from households is not recycled. They are of the opinion that in order to increase recycling, a legal mandate should be implemented by the government. I firmly believe that well enforced laws will aid in the process of waste recycling. Throughtout this essay I will explore the reasons for having definitive laws for waste recycling along with substantiations wherever possible. To begin with, many a time, individuals are unaware of the proper disposal of waste into garbage bins for the purpose of recycling and instead of disposing waste in proper bins, they are littered in places, where it becomes difficult for the collection trucks to pick up the garbbage. Hence, a well defined legal framework will not only make people aware of the right way of dumping waste but will also ensure that a quantum amount of waste is collected for the purpose of recycling. For instance, in Europe, there is a law ensuring that there is a monetary penalisation for anybody throwing garbbage in any other place other than the nominated place. At the same time, another reason, why the process of waste recycling is hindered, is due to improper waste segregation. If the solid scrap gets mixed with the liquid waste, then it becomes difficult for recycling and not enough waste is availaible for recycling. Consequently, one way of tackling this issue is to have seperate dust bins for solid, liquid and soft wastes, besides having a law in place, which enforces individuals to follow the proper process of throwing the waste as per the type. For example in Dubai, there are seperate dustbins based on the type of waste to be thrown, with legal repurcations reputation in the form of fine or public service if the citizens are not abiding by the correct method of throwing different waste. To conclude, Individual negligence and faulty waste disposal patterns are the primal reasons for not enough waste being accumulated for recycling. However, such issues can be corrected by having proper laws by public institutions. Hence, I am of the opinion that laws are very much necessary for more recycling of waste.