Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

There are conflicting views over whether children should be taught to compete or cooperate in the drive to produce valuable members of society. Although encouraging competitiveness in youth can be effective in life, learning to cooperate is more critical. From one point of view, competition can greatly encourage children through school and prepare them for real-world challenges in adult life. In school, teachers motivate children through incentives like rewards, prizes, and games, which give them a sense of accomplishment to surpass their classmates. This helps build confidence and improve independent concentration while faster progress during teamwork or individual work. Later in life, such confidence and persistence will stand children in good stead for competitive situations like job interviews or getting ahead in work environments. On the other hand, while competition in the workplace may be necessary on occasion, cooperation between colleagues is a social skill that children will need every day on the job. When required, employees often have to team up on projects, follow instructions or junior support staff. Collaboration skills are more valued in the workplace than a competitive drive to get ahead in such situations. Furthermore, when at school, studies show that children tend to learn better when teaching each other thus, by carefully emphasizing collaborative skills in school, teachers engender more significant learning among the whole class. These points demonstrate that society stands more to gain from learning to work together than apart. In conclusion, while competitiveness in children has certain advantages, my view is that fostering cooperation in our youngest generation more clearly reflects the daily skills they will need in adulthood.