In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this .

In many parts of the world nowadays, high school graduates are encouraged to take a year off to work or travel, before getting involved directly in their formal university education. In this essay, I am going to discuss some merits and demerits of the gap- year plan. On one hand, opting for taking this one- year pause is undeniably bringing many advantages to an individual’s life when it comes to a personal career choice in the long term. Firstly, being an averagely 18 - year - old teenager, a high school graduate can hardly truly know what exactly the major he or she may want to pursue. In such case, students need to try on various jobs in order to find out the most suitable one for them to learn as their profession in the university. Furthermore, rich life experience can also make you fully prepared for a university education. We have to admit that the gap year has the potential to teach youngsters much more valuable life lessons which can never be acquired in school. This is especially true if you decide to spend your time travelling around, where you will undoubtedly gain abilities to live and work independently, and of course, experience different cultures. These precious attempts are great blessings for your upcoming college life. On the other hand, the one- year gap program is not for everyone for its possible negative impacts. To begin with, it won’t be a wise decision for students who are weak at self-discipline, because it can turn out to be a serious waste of time after all. The initial purpose of taking a year off is for earning experience or money in life, but without a determined heart and a strong purposeful sense, you can, eventually, put yourself at risk of losing the academic momentum, thus sadly losing the vision of academic pursuits. Besides, travelling around for a long period of time can indeed infuse us much unforgettable experience though, depending on your destination and duration, it can be very pricy. If you make the budget planning properly, a gap year trip can possibly trap you into a financial dilemma, which might take you years to pay off. In conclusion, taking a year off before university entry bears pros and cons. Whether to take it or not largely depends on personal situation. For the best of our future, we should rethink seriously before making the decision on this issue.