Some governments spend a lot of public money training individuals to be successful in international sporting events. Some people believe that this money should be spent on things that will benefit the general public instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Nowadays, there has commonly been a huge amount of debate regarding the government budget allocation for sports development. A certain segment of society consider it as a waste of money while others contrary with it and prefer to spend more on general public needs. I partially agree for some reasons that sports investment would be financially beneficial for countries. This essay will elucidate my point of view considering this trend as a potential advancement for communities. First of all, Nations that have won or organized popular sports events will increase their popularity which surely affect to the other economic sectors. For instance, very limited people recognized Ivory Coast before they could participate in World Cup. By rapidly increasing the number of engagements from overseas citizen, it will be easier to introduce other local commodities such as tourism, food, etc. This opportunity would be prospective to increase exportation. In contrast with the previous argument, There were so many sports investments that could not give an impact on society. For example, the Indonesian Government has invested more than 10 million dollars for the last 10 years yet it hasn't produced any achievement. However, Badminton and Weightlifting that have contributed to Olympic medals are only given less than 500 thousand dollars. Based on the fact, it shows that the stakeholders need to deeply analyze which type of sport to be supported. They need to make a feasibility study on whether a significant investment would be appropriate or not for some type of sports. In conclusion, it would be economically fantastic when the expense for sports development can provide a good return. Thus, Government should read and analyze the situation comprehensively before making a decision in sporting events.