In some countries more and more people are becoming interested in finding out bout the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

There is a culture in some countries about learning the background history of the house before moving in. I think there are many reasons for this behaviour.In this essay, I will talk about the possible reasons and how these people do their own research. Firstly, it is essential for people to know more about the house or even the neighbourhood before they decide to move in. For example, in Indonesia, people become suspicious if there is a house that is being sold with a cheaper offer than other houses with the same facilities. This is because on some occasions, these houses were used as crime scenes. It is widely believed that these houses ' aura is not good for people who live there and will bring misery. Some people also believe that these houses are scary because the ghosts will live there. Secondly, if the house has a vintage appearance, people will get excited to know the story of this building in the past. This story could help to know more about what the building was originally used for. Some people who love to learn history will be eager to learn about something that people nowadays do not know. This new finding could be posted online through social media to get more attention. This can give positive feedback to the owner. For instance, if the owner wants to make the house ot the building as cafe or store, the owner could use the background history for attracting more people to come. In Semarang, the old buildings that were used as government offices back in the Dutch colonization era are now used for tourist attractions. Nowadays, it is very easy for people to search about the history of a building through the Internet. People can search the history of the location by using the address and the relevant posts will pop out in Google. people could also do their own research by visiting the local library. In some cities, the local library provides every information about the households in their area. In addition, people can ask the neighbours who live around the building to get more information. In conclusion, learning more about the story of the house could give people a new perspective on living there. It is also important to know the history of their houses, so they are not surprised if other people talk about it.