Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has it become a positive or negative development?

In recent times, due to technology changes, individuals are interacting with each other differently than in the past. This essay aims to explain how these changes have affected people's relationships and why this is disadvantageous for them. Firstly, People are communicating more and more through electronic devices such as cell phones. This means that they are seeing and hearing each other even though they are in different places. It is certainly true, that it can be beneficial in some situations, for example when a relative or friend travels to another country. Nevertheless, individuals are doing this even with their neighbours. Therefore we are starting to forget the importance of doing things together and human contact. For instance, children play video games online instead of playing in the squares or with other children in their neighbourhood. In fact, it is becoming very normal not to even know who your neighbours are and this does not only happen to children, but also to adults. Secondly, social networks make people interact with each other in different ways. Some social network users are obsessed with likes and spend a lot of their free time making images or videos trying to get as many of them as possible. To do that they usually show a distorted image of themselves to attract as many viewers as possible. There are many examples of this, to name a few: image editing to erase defects, taking photos of expensive things they buy but that they can barely afford to make people believe that they have a more luxurious lifestyle. This is disadvantageous because they are not showing their true self and is stressing to be always trying to call the attention with pictures and text in a world overcrowded with them. To sum up, the increase in the use of electronic devices is eroding human contact and social networks can do more harm than good when people are trying desperately to call others attention. For those reasons,in my opinion, the changes in the way people interact with each other are a negative development.