Individuals should not be allowed to carry guns as it increases crime and violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In many countries, laws are flexible to let citizens carry firearms while in many others, it is quite difficult to get a license, even for a notable person, to possess and carry a gun. It is often said that when a state or country allows its citizens to carry weapons, crime and violence increase and therefore individuals should not be allowed to carry firearms. I quite agree with this statement and this essay attempts to explain why. First, guns are meant to shoot someone either to wound or kill that person even in instances of self-defence. Thus the very objective of a gun is to kill a person and thus this deathly weapon can only increase crime and violence in society. To understand how the mass ownership of guns can increase the violence in a country we can compare a country like the USA, where carrying a gun is allowed, with a country like Japan, where it is restricted. In 2018, when the United States experienced over 24,000 gun -related homicides, Japan had only 21 and this is quite an alarming comparison that reveals how firearms ownership by mass people can increase violence in a country. Moreover, research indicates that owning and carrying a gun can psychologically affect our behaviours and thus people often commit crimes only because they have guns with them. Thus letting people carry guns puts others' lives at risk rather than ensuring safety for all. Accidental, psychological, and family violence gunshot wounds and deaths are quite high in countries where people can carry guns with them, and the only way to reduce such crime rates is not allowing people to own and carry guns on their wish. In conclusion, allowing people to carry guns actually increases crimes, violence and casualties rather than ensuring public safety. Thus there is no doubt that people in a country should not be allowed to carry firearms and restricting it would significantly decrease crime and violence.