Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not only the reason why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some argue the importance of foreign language learning appropriate only for work or travelling purposes, while others assert that it is more than just work language and serves other purposes. In my opinion, I consider that people learning a foreign language have various purposes besides just travelling or work-oriented reasons. It is often believed, on one hand, that a foreign language is needed to get hired in a foreign country or to travel there. Without a foreign language, people can not get along well with their jobs as the language is the only way of communication. For example, for a person to be selected as a waiter in Paris, he must know basic French without which he can not communicate with the customers and get their order. Likewise, while travelling to foreign countries, without knowing a foreign language, a tourist might get lost because he would be unable to ask for important addresses and directions. On the other hand, some people think that learning a foreign language serves other reasons too and I agree. For the language learning bring people closer as it provides a mean to understand and appreciate the culture of other countries, to know their language history and to learn the ancient civilizations. Another reason why people may learn a foreign language is that they feel a sense of belongingness to that language, which is why they start to avoid conflicts with native language speakers basing on caste and creed. This, in turn, allow people to think and progress positively, and to see others as equal to themselves. In conclusion, although people have different views, I think that learning a foreign language has far more reason than just travelling and work-finding purposes.