A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, some people believe that judge the person based upon the social status and materialistic possessions. There is no much importance given to traditional values such as, kindness, honour or trust. I absolutely oppose this trend and do not agree. It is should be the criteria to judge someone's worth and this essay attempts to discuss the same. Respect is shared upon the social status someone beholds which is, in turn dependent upon the type of job or the designation of the person in the company. It increases the net worth of a status as he/she can afford more expensive goods according to many. Neighbours consider them worthy to be living near their house only if they have a strong financial position. For instance, sharing my personal experience, some of the people living near my house only interacted with me once they got to know that I have a job. Hence, this proves that money is more important in the eyes of people. Honesty or kindness is the attribute present in the nature of person. Earlier, people used to respect such individuals who possessed such features. Even today, some people like to have such kind of persons living near them as they can rely on their help and can share their personal problems as well. For example, if there is some issue related to health or finance, one can connect with those people to get some advice. However, there is a very small proportion of the population who adores people with these qualities. To conclude, the points don’t sum up that person's worth is judged upon the societal status and expensive, exotic items one possess. There is not much heed given to old fashioned values and I totally disagree with it.