Some people say patriotism causes problems and is negative overall. Others feel that it is beneficial for society at large. Do the advantages of patriotism outweigh its disadvantages?

Most people believe that excessive amount of patriotism are spreading hatred and many other disadvantages for the country. Others, however, argue that this thing is causing happiness in specific regions. In my point of view, there exist more advantages of patriotism over disadvantages. On the one hand, if a person is expressing love for a specific country through his words and actions, then this thing can be beneficial for a country. Similarly, people are describing their beautiful traditions and culture to other nations; in this way, there might be a possibility that they will attract many people to tourism in that country. Outsiders may get attracted by seeing someone’s love for their country, and there might be a chance that they want to explore why something is attracting more people of the world to this country. According to this, it can enhance tourism in one region. On the other hand, an excessive love for a country may cause a lot of disasters. The reputation of the country, in first hand, could be decreased by this much affection for the country. For instance, the most patriotic persons are found to be most narrow-minded. As a result, they may try to kill someone just for the sake of their state, as, nowadays, a lot of people are fighting on different social media platforms just because of anti-patriotic emotions. By this, they all are creating hatred everywhere, which, consequently, may call a big war later on. In my opinion, it might cause a great negative effect on a nation as a whole. In conclusion, patriots often bring more happiness to their homeland as compared to the sadness they might cause, and can surely prove themselves significant to the region.