Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued by some that the sole cause for learning a foreign language is for travelling or work purposes in a foreign country. It is stated by others there are more reasons beyond this. I will discuss both views and explain why I believe there are actually ample reasons to learn an accent other than visiting that specific nation. The primary purpose of jargon is communication. People tend to only learn a language when they need to talk to its native speakers. For instance, a person might only learn Swedish if he is planning to travel to Sweden or get a job there. It seems that there is not much motivation for an individual to know a language without this purpose. Hence, it might be observed that dialect does not have much usage other than conveying information to foreigners. On the other hand, another strong reason for learning an expression is to understand its literature and culture. People also attempt to learn a foreign terminology in order to read religious scripts written using it. For example, if someone wants to enjoy the finest poems from Persian literature, he would at least need to have a basic understanding of Persian. Translations do not always capture the depth of the original speech. Therefore, travelling to another country is not the sole reason to learn a new style. I believe that the functionality of a sound goes way beyond verbal communication. It constitutes a part of the identity of a nation. In order to understand their poems, novels, plays, songs and stories, it is important to have knowledge of their language. In conclusion, it might be perceived that learning a new language is not beneficial without going to that country. In my opinion, if one thinks deeply he would be able to understand that a language has greater purposes.