Government should make laws about people’s nutrition and food choice. Others argue that it is their choice. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this day and age, it is a common belief that the government had better impose harsher laws on citizens’ selection of food with a view to combatting detrimental eating habits. From my perspective, I do not concur with this view because the choice of nutritious food should be based on personal preference. On the one hand, legislation detailing food consumption can bring some merits in some aspects. Indeed, the fact that the local authorities hinder the deleterious food advertisement from citizens as well as put higher taxes on them can limit their vast ramifications along with decrease tremendously the over-consumption of addictive fast foods, soft drinks and junk food. As a result, this tendency will reduce the risk of contracting hazardous diseases such as obesity, diabetes or even cardiovascular among people and help them lead a healthy lifestyle. On the other hand, I believe that it is better for each individual to be free to make up their mind about their own healthy diet because not only can it accommodate people’s need but it also enhance human freedom. First and foremost, a person’s choice of dishes may depend on a myriad of factors ranging from taste preference, financial situations to their current health. Therefore, it is quite a ridiculous idea for the government to deter inhabitants from consuming their favourable dishes as well as impose a balanced diet on everyone. In addition, enforcing human beings to follow severe guidelines and imposing strict punishment on people who violate the laws seems to be unethical in some ways. That’s why I believe that the local authorities should spur people to follow healthy habits rather than be compulsory to reinforce the right of each individual in a prosperous society. In conclusion, notwithstanding the enormous benefits of following a science-based diet, I still think that each citizen should have the right to consume whatever they desire for the sake of themselves as well as the society.