Competitiveness is seen as a positive quality for people to have in many societies today. How does this competitiveness affect individuals? Is it a positive or negative quality?

These days, many countries regard competitiveness as a quality that can make people more productive. Ironically, in my opinion, this trend leads to the opposite side instead of the positive effect. Under the pressure of competition, people are less likely to feel satisfied and need to put in more effort to achieve the same success as now. In a highly competitive society, it is difficult for people to achieve satisfaction through their growth; instead, they need to be better than others to gain a sense of satisfaction. However, everyone has their areas of expertise and incompetence, so it is harder to get a sense of achievement by trying their best to outperform everyone or even the best in the field than by making their progress. As the sense of failure builds up, the more the desire to gain satisfaction through competition to regain self-confidence becomes a vicious circle. When people are required to spend unnecessary effort to obtain what they are supposed to have, all standards are artificially raised and thus trapped in vicious competition. A significant case is a Chinese company called Ali which encourage staff to compete with other departments, other teams and even within their teams. After a series of promotion conditions were publicised, it turned out that employees were overworked to complete what was originally a multi-person task. Then, many employees were made redundant since they were not wanted anymore, leaving the remaining employees to stay in their original positions with extra workload and hours but with fewer benefits. There are no winners in this competition for employees, only exploiters who have the last laugh. The promotion of a sense of competition is an orgy for the rule-builders, while for the majority of ordinary people, the only thing left is a sense of no longer feeling fulfilled and a tiring and low-paying job.