Crime rates will fall as advances in technology make it easier to detect and prevent crimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The decrease in criminal rates will be linked to technological improvements because these advances make this activity easy in terms of detection and prevention. To that extent, I am hundred per cent in agreement due to the following reasons which I will explain in detail in this essay. Nowadays and thanks to the development of new technologies we count on a large number of security systems that help us to live less worried about our security. In fact, many of them, such as CCTV cameras work to persuade potential thieves. From the beginning, we can obtain through them invaluable and recorded information. Recent research carried out by the "Technological University of California" depicts information about how the percentage of thieves was decreased in a crowded but residential area after their neighbours installed CCTV cameras. Another successful odd that should be considered, was the discovery of the usefulness of fingerprints in order to find suspects and criminals. Even this method was discovered in the last century it was not popular among the scientific community until the last decade, when the scanners to read fingerprints were improved. A recent study showed that this method was 90% reliable in comparison to others detecting serial killers. Notwithstanding, nowadays this useful tool is not present among police preferences. Otherwise, the latest investigations were carried out using the GPS location given by the criminal's telephone. In fact, the new mobile phones are much more than a simple telephone, they are also like a small computer, with location integrated. The police, in their effort to figure out where the suspect is or where he or she was seen for the last time, use this GPS which is phone-integrated and at the same time linked to the communication system. In conclusion, I am totally convinced that these developments in technology could lead to a decrease in crime rates and also make them easy to detect as well prevent