Several countries have reported an escalation in the number of people suffering from health related diseases due to the intake of junk food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Several countries have reported an escalation in the number of people suffering from health -related diseases due to the intake of junk food. From my standpoint, this essay will justify the reasons why the authorities should impose tax sanctions on these types of unhealthy cuisines along with relevant examples. Individuals are often tempted by the delectable goods that are advertised ranging from burgers, pizzas, store-bought desserts and other snackable munchies. However, these mouth-watering goods have a detrimental impact on the individual’s physical and psychological health. People who consume high levels of these sorts of foods are prone to diseases like obesity, cardiovascular problems like heart attacks and various other illnesses related to the liver. The chemicals used in the processing of these items have a degrading impact on the human body. Moreover, the consumption of these also leads to a few psychological disorders. An individual starts to feel lethargic. Lethargy disables the person to engage in high-end activities like daily chores and other aspects of life which require manual labour. Additionally, the work performance of the businessman also shrinks, which leads to fewer yields results. Those who have low self-esteem and who are body conscious suffer from depression. People in manifold believe in maintaining their bodies to the perfect scale - if someone is too skinny or overweight they are diagnosed with disorders like Bulimia (eating too much and throwing it up) and Anorexia (who don’t consume too much food and often skip meals) which is reported by many nations. For example, in a study conducted by the World Health Organization (WHO) in 2020, it was reported that 70+ million people are overweight in developed nations like the USA and China. Nevertheless, there are ways in which the countries can witness a reduction in the rise of this phenomenon. By imposing taxes on these items, it can offer rewarding incentives to people and help them gain a better way of living. While marketing these food products, the price hike can actually reduce the sales of these snacks which will eventually make people buy nutrient-enriched packed goods. Furthermore, those who eat nutritious and fresh meals will not only achieve better health prospects but can also help spread awareness amongst others. As per reports in 2021, the Global Health Index revealed that Spain was the only nation with a rank higher than 90+ than any other nation. They are known for their delicious yet healthy meals which are considered beneficial for society’s welfare. In conclusion, to save the current and upcoming generations from the fatal illnesses related to their well being, the government must implement tax laws on these fast foods in order to provide an enriched life for individuals.