In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

It is commonly believed that after a few years automobiles namely cars, buses and trucks would not require a driver and would only carry passengers. In my opinion, even though there would be various benefits of this development such as it would be time efficient and less risky, the drawbacks would be severe, including minimal control granted to the owner and unaffordable for marginalized people, therefore, driverless transportation would have more cons than pros. Certainly, it would allow passengers to reach destinations more quickly since driverless cars would have a consistent speed. To give an example, if a driver is feeling sleepy, the driving speed would be slow, hence, would delay the passenger from reaching their destination. Moreover, since robots are less prone to errors, this would reduce the risks of accidents on road. Using the aforementioned example, sleepiness escalates the chances of getting into an accident; however, robots would not face this issue. Although these benefits might seem appealing, the disadvantages of this trend should be considered before purchasing a vehicle which does not require drivers. The passengers in the car have no or little control over the vehicle. Once the destination is set and automobile has started its journey, there are limited options available to the passengers to divert it from its goal. To illustrate, if there is an emergency, which requires the passenger to change the route, it would be next to impossible for them to do so. Furthermore, in developing countries like Pakistan, the most common mode of transportation is riding on bike. Consequently, people belonging to these lower income bracket would not be able to purchase it, hence, they would feel uneasy driving on road with robot vehicles. To conclude, even though driverless transportation would save time and make roads safer, the problems attached to it makes it infeasible and unaffordable for the general population.